Forced Hibernation

Last night when I went to bed it was 35 degrees and a bit rainy. When I woke up this morning, the first thing that I heard on the radio was that many schools were closed, including a 2 hour delay for Hope College. Even the DJ sounded surprised when he said it! The temperature had dropped overnight to -15 degrees, and there were white-out conditions for driving, that one man described like “driving through a glass of milk.” He also said he had to “feel” his way to exit off the highway by driving on the rumble strips. BAD weather– lots of gusting snow and drifts everywhere, not to mention slippery! At 6:20 one of my co-workers also called to be sure I heard that Hope was closed until noon, and that even Chapel had been canceled. I promptly went back to sleep for another 1 1/2 hours. Ah, some good ol’ forced hibernation. I’ve only seen the tow truck (when opening the blinds I saw that a neighbor seems to have gotten stuck, or maybe their car just wouldn’t go) and the plow, and some darling birds still scrounging for seeds at the feeder. Poor things!

JP is out of town… Sacramento, California to be exact. I’ve no idea whether all this craziness will delay his flights back. He has to fly through Minneapolis. He’s supposed to come in around 9:30pm, so I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. I hear there are more storms coming on Thursday night and Monday-Tuesday. So, I’m really hoping JP will be able to get in tonight if not tomorrow during the day. We’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “Forced Hibernation

Leave a Reply

