Our little construction site

Monsoon storm clouds close in over the WCOI campus this afternoon.

Monsoon storm clouds close in over the WCOI campus this afternoon.

There are all sorts of things that keep you on your toes when you live in the middle of a construction site. There is a never-ending sense of motion around here, and it seems like just about everyone is carrying something extra heavy around on their head. I worry about making them stop short (which they politely do more than once a day for at least one of us) because cement will slosh over the side, or bricks will topple over shoulders, or meticulously filled bags of sand will spill mercilessly onto the floor again.

Seeing someone carrying something on their head is both shocking and awe-inspiring.  It never ceases to amaze!

Seeing someone carrying something on their head is both shocking and awe-inspiring. It never ceases to amaze!

There is always a whining saw, or a drill making holes in concrete, or something sparking during the welding process. Seriously, at any given moment I would guess that there are 20 or more projects buzzing on the campus. We keep on the lookout and walk with caution. Admittedly, our eyes are peeled for Reuben, and we’re on our toes, always poised and ready to reach and pull him out of a possible disaster. I’m thankful that there are about a dozen other pairs of eyes on my kids at all times, or the sense of spectacular chaos would be too much.

It appears that no one is watching...

It appears that no one is watching…

This boy is always trying to ride off into the sunset...

This boy is always trying to ride off into the sunset…

 

This afternoon, before the storm clouds had gathered, I had been working at a nearby coffee shop. Just as I arrived back, JP was headed out on the motorcycle so he handed me the keys to the apartment. I was hoping to drop my stuff off inside and go find Leila, but when I got there, the key would not open the door. I tried four times because the lock can be a bit sticky. I then went downstairs, said hello to Leila, and tried our key in my in-laws lock just to be sure I didn’t have the wrong set of keys. I went back upstairs and tried again. No luck. But, I heard the motorcycle return, and thus went and reported the news to JP, that our brand new keys and brand new lock were not going to let us into our beautiful teak wood door. (I think both of us pictured the door having to be broken down.) At this point I think every male on the campus had to try the door, lock, and key three or four times for themselves. No luck.

How many Indians does it take to open a door?

How many Indians does it take to open a door?

My dear father-in-law stood in the background with a small hammer, insisting it would do the trick. No one would let him through until it was a last hope. And wouldn’t you know, tap-tap-tap, and the door swung open.  I happened to be there to witness the ease. I almost didn’t believe it. The lock is fixed now.

"See, I told them it would work!"

“See, I told them it would work!”

 

And, the power that went off due to the rains came on just in time to eat dinner, and went back off again just in time to (not) give baths. Instead the kids enjoyed some high hilarity at the expense of their shadows and some flashlights. A bit of a lost art back in Michigan, playing when the power is out.  The power now seems to have returned for the night, giving me opportunity to write a few notes on the blog before bed.

There are no dull moments around here.  Ever.

A few more photo highlights from the construction site…

Lots going on here.  Look closely and you'll see a bicycle rickshaw (very rare in Bangalore) delivering supplies!

Lots going on here. Look closely and you’ll see a bicycle rickshaw (very rare in Bangalore) delivering supplies!

Old school heavy lifting.  It took them all morning to reposition this granite slab up near the green house.

Old school heavy lifting. It took them all morning to reposition this granite slab up near the green house.

Should I be worried about this?

Should I be worried about this?

Leave a Reply

